Sports Digest: NL Champion Phillies extends President Dombrowski to 2027


National League champions Philadelphia Phillies extended team president Dave Dombrowski’s contract by three years through the 2027 season.

“This is a great organization and I feel so fortunate to be surrounded by such an amazing staff. We’ve made significant strides in many areas of baseball’s operations over the past several years, and I’m committed to building on that to form a championship organization for the city and our incredible fan base,” Dombrowski said Tuesday.

Dombrowski made the crucial decision to fire manager Joe Girardi with the team’s scuffle in June and replace him with bench coach Rob Thomson. Behind hitters Bryce Harper, Kyle Schwarber and Rhys Hoskins, Thomson helped lead the Phillies to their first playoff appearance since 2011 and their eighth NL pennant.

Dombrowski, 66, was hired in December 2020 after front office stints with Montreal, the Florida Marlins, Boston and Detroit. His clubs have won five pennants and two World Series titles. He is the only baseball executive to have led four different franchises to the World Series and only one of five general managers to have won a World Series title with two different teams.

AWARDS: Houston Astros ace Justin Verlander and St. Louis Cardinals hitter Albert Pujols won baseball’s Comeback Player of the Year honors.

American League wide receiver Verlander returned from Tommy John surgery to lead Houston to its second World Series championship. He had the lowest ERA in the majors and was a unanimous winner of his third Cy Young Award – becoming the first player to receive the award after failing to court the previous season.

Pujols, who was honored in the National League, returned to St. Louis for his bye season and at the age of 42 notched his biggest numbers in years. The three-time MVP compiled an .895 OPS for the NL Central champion and became the fourth major league to hit 700 career home runs.

The winners were chosen by a vote by the 30 Team Beat reporters on


FOOTBALL: Oxford Hills resident Eli Soehren was named the 2022 MaxPreps Maine High School Football Player of the Year.

The 6-foot-3, 205-pound senior quarterback helped the Vikings win 11-0 and win their first Class A state championship.

Soehren completed 110 of 167 passes for 1,776 yards and 24 touchdowns with just five interceptions this season. He added 349 yards and six touchdowns on 61 carries, and also played defense and handled punting duties.

Each state’s MaxPreps Player of the Year will be considered for inclusion on the MaxPreps All-America team, which will be announced January 10th.


ECHL: The Boston Bruins and Providence Bruins have allotted three players to the Maine Mariners, who begin a busy stretch of home games against Reading on Wednesday.

Forwards Alex-Olivier Voyer and Curtis Hall and goaltender Michael DiPietro were sent to Maine from Providence.

Voyer, 23, is returning after playing two games for the Mariners at the previous homestand. Hall was a fourth-round pick from Boston in the 2018 draft. DiPietro was acquired by the Bruins from the Vancouver Canucks on October 27. As part of the deal, the Bruins sent Jack Studnicka to Vancouver in exchange for DiPietro and the rights to defense attorney Jonathan Myrenberg.

In appropriate moves, the Mariners released goalies Josh Boyko and Peter Thome. Goaltender Francois Brassard was transferred to Maine from Providence on Saturday.


PARIS 2024: The operating budget for the Paris 2024 Olympics is expected to increase by 10%, partly due to high inflation, organizers said.

The organizing committee, known as COJO, had an initial operating budget of around 4 billion euros ($4.1 billion), but will present a revised figure at a board meeting next month that is expected to be 4.4 billion euros ($4.5 billion). billion US dollars).


BONUS: Tiger Woods was awarded a $15 million bonus from the PGA Tour’s Player Impact Program.

Woods won the award for the second year in a row while playing slightly more often.

Recovering from a car accident in 2021, he only played two rounds of the PNC Championship with his son Charlie. This year he played in three majors, made it to the weekend in two of them and finished 72 holes in only the Masters.

Woods still ranked #1 in four of the five PIP categories. The exception was TV Sponsor Exposure, which is the amount of time a player’s sponsor logos appear on screen during weekend rounds. He only played three of them.

Rory McIlroy finished second and received a $12 million bonus. Jordan Spieth narrowly beat Justin Thomas in third place – Spieth got $9 million, Thomas $7.5 million – and Jon Rahm ($6 million) was fifth.

RYDER CUP: European captain Luke Donald appointed Nicolas Colsaerts as his third vice-captain for next year’s event in Rome.

The Belgian golfer, who turned 40 last week, joins Thomas Bjorn of Denmark and Edoardo Molinari of Italy as vice-captains for the European team.

The Ryder Cup 2023 will be held from September 26th to October 10th at Rome’s Marco Simone Golf and Country Club. 1.


ENGLAND: Forward Beth Mead tore her cruciate ligament while playing for Arsenal, raising questions about her availability for next summer’s Women’s World Cup.

Mead, 27, who helped England win the European Championship, was injured in Arsenal’s 3-2 defeat by Manchester United in the Women’s Super League on Saturday.

MLS: Former Seattle Sounders executive Garth Lagerwey has been named to succeed Darren Eales as Atlanta United’s president and chief executive officer.

Lagerwey, 49, has served as general manager and president of Seattle since 2015. Seattle won this year’s Concacaf Champions League title and MLS Cup championships in 2019 and 2016. Seattle reached two more MLS Cup finals under Lagerwey’s guidance.

Eales announced on July 15 that he was leaving Atlanta United to become chief executive officer of Newcastle United in the Premier League in England. .


DAVIS CUP: Alex de Minaur and Jordan Thompson won their singles matches, helping Australia qualify for the Davis Cup semi-finals for the first time since 2017 at the expense of the Netherlands.

De Minaur defeated Botic van de Zandschulp 5-7 6-3 6-4 to win the series 2-0 and set up a semi-final match against Spain or Croatia.

Australia is the second-most successful nation in team competition with 28 titles, but their last triumph dates back to 2003.
De Minaur ended his rally with a break in the 10th game of the final set, extending a 40-0 lead and converting the first match point on an indoor hard court in the southern Spanish city of Malaga.

Previously, Thompson also came from a set to defeat Tallon Griekspoor 4-6 7-5 6-3.

Use the form below to reset your password. If you have submitted your account email, we will send you an email with a reset code.

” previous

Next ”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *