This is how you level up quickly

Final Fantasy XI was one of the best MMORPGs at its peak in the early 2000s, as well as one of the most popular entries in the series. Franchise fans have flocked to the critically acclaimed game lately due to its low price. However, when first logging into the game, newcomers quickly become frustrated with the lack of direction and the need for level grinding.

The idea of ‚Äč‚Äčmindlessly grinding for months just to get to the main story content drives new players away. After all, the best way to play the game is to get overleveled and then retrospectively make content with trusts. Without a seasoned veteran to guide them, newcomers would never know what methods to use to grind to level 99 in just a matter of weeks. Here are five of the best ways to level up as a brand new player.

RELATED: What Final Fantasy XVI can learn from its predecessor

Use the field manual to complete an individual training session

When leveling up, new players usually just jump into the wilds outside of the starter town and start attacking enemies. This strategy works well up to level five, when an increasing amount of experience points is required to reach the next level. To increase the amount of experience points awarded by fallen mobs, players should utilize the field manuals that are scattered throughout Vana’diel.

Field Manuals host training schedules that grant the player a ton of experience points in exchange for hunting down various mobs. In addition, field manuals have pages that are tier specific. For example, page one of the North Gustaberg Field Manual calls for six worms and is designed to get players through level six. These programs can be set to repeat automatically, saving players the long walk back to the book between each completion.

Complete ROEs for Sparks and get XP rings

Completing the Eminence’s Notes quests grants players both experience points and sparks. The Empress Ring is the most coveted item for those lacking in gil. It has a total of seven charges, and each use grants the player an additional 50% boost in experience points for up to 12 hours.

RELATED: Final Fantasy’s first battle royale deserved more than a mobile release

Additionally, since Sparks can be used to purchase a variety of gear up to level 99, players should trade them to their local vendors to purchase better anti-mob gear. Sparks can be exchanged with Isakoth in Bastok, Rolandienne in San d’Oria, and Fhelm Jobeizat in Windurst.

Get a chocobo license in Jeuno and save time

Obtaining a chocobo license is one of the most important quests in the game. FFXI has been heavily criticized for how much running new players have to do. With teleporting between home points costing hundreds of gils per use, newcomers will spend most of their time running between areas or teleporting via survival guides and unity warps.

Completing the Chocobo License and Raptor Mount quests in Jeuno will reward the player with their very first mount. From there, players will save time searching for Field Manual objectives and finding the closest areas to farm.

RELATED: Final Fantasy VI fans recreate Kefka and Terra in ethereal cosplay

Take advantage of Final Fantasy XI’s trust system

Final Fantasy XI created the Trust system to help new players advance through levels faster and enjoy high-end content without months of level-grinding. Due to the game’s “open” tutorial, most newcomers are unaware that the trust system even exists. After completing the Trust tutorial and unlocking the basic Trust characters, players should deploy at least one tank, one healer, and two damage dealers and swap out members based on the player’s current job.

Trusts are at the same level as the player and automatically learn their level-appropriate skills, so they require no further investment. Players should note that when leveling up, their Trust Group will remain at the same level that the player summoned them at. Therefore, the player should recall their trust every time they level up in order to maximize damage against enemies.

RELATED: How Final Fantasy 7 Affects Image’s New RPG Comic

Complete the level cap missions

Players struggling with the quest menu usually gloss over the level cap section in the tutorial, causing confusion when their character suddenly has a level cap. Upon reaching level 50, players must seek out Maat or Nomad Moogle in Ru’Lude Gardens and complete the level cap missions to unlock higher levels. These quests are completed in increments of five stages and must be completed in order.

The quests require a lot of walking and farming for items, which emphasizes the need for mounts to navigate the terrain in a timely manner. After trading the requested items with Maat or Nomad Moogle, the player can continue leveling as usual.

Get in Final Fantasy XI doesn’t have to be a stressful experience. With these pointers, new players will find the process much smoother than leveling up blindly. Conversely, leveling can be an important consideration Final Fantasy XI, it’s not the only thing that matters in the game. Exploring Vana’diel and learning about the world through side quests is just as important as the level grind for the main story content.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *