World Cup 2022 Liveblog Day 4: Updates, Goals, Highlights

WELCOME TO DAY 4 OF THE 2022 WORLD CUP!!! Day 3 brought us one of the biggest upsets in tournament history as Lionel Messi’s Argentina lost to Saudi Arabia, proving that this World Cup could be far more surprising than usual and that every game is worth watching. Day 4 is very interesting with three of the favorites making their debuts and a whole host of Barcelona players in action.

The day begins at the venue of the tournament’s opening match at Al Bayt Stadium in Al Khor, where 2018 finalists Croatia play an intriguing Group F opener against Morocco. Group F is undoubtedly the most interesting of the tournament, with all four teams competing with realistic chances of qualifying. Morocco have a team packed with European talent throughout their squad and a real chance to beat a Croatian side who still have Luka Modric but haven’t done a great job developing and rebuilding after their dream run in Russia.

The next two games are the opening games of Group E: The second game of the day brings the debut of the Germans, who, thanks to their large number of players from Bayern Munich and a strong coaching role by Hansi Flick, are going into this game with the usual high expectations since taking over 18 months ago . Germany are young and dangerous and they also have a Barça player in goalkeeper Marc-André Ter Stegen who will be watching the entire tournament from the bench unless something happens to Manuel Neuer.

Game 3 of Day 4 is the much-anticipated debut of Luis Enrique’s Spaniards, who head into the tournament with hope and pressure to continue their run to the semi-finals of last year’s Euros. They have a Barça legend as a coach and a whopping round of 16 Blaugrana Stars in the squad and players like Pedri, Gavi and Ansu Fati could prove crucial La Rojathe chance. Their debut comes against Costa Rica, who are always a brutal opponent for everyone at the World Cup, thanks in no small part to goalkeeper Keylor Navas, who always plays to a different level for his country.

Finally, it’s time for Belgium to finally fulfill their potential at international level as they begin their World Cup journey against Canada in Al Rayyan. This has the potential to be one of the best games of the group stage as both sides like to play fast, attacking and fun football. The Canadians will have their talisman for that as Alphonso Davies recovered from injury in time for the opener and Canada absolutely dominated CONCACAF qualifiers and could easily be the surprise of the tournament. Belgium has all its famous stars back for another international run and Kevin De Bruyne is always a show.

This promises to be a very entertaining day of World Cup football and you are cordially invited to join us to follow and comment on all the action. Vamos!


LIVE BLOG


POSITIONS

Belgium XI: Courtois; Dendoncker, Alderweireld, Vertonghen; Castagne, Witsel, Tielemans, Carrasco; De Bruyne, Batshuayi, Hazard (3-4-3)

Canada XI: Borjan; Johnston, Vitoria, Miller; Hoilett, Hutchinson, Eustaquio, Laryea; Buchanan, David, Davies (3-4-3)

GAME INFO

competition/round: FIFA World Cup 2022, Group F, Matchday 1

appointment time: Wednesday, November 23, 2022 at 10:00 p.m. local time, 8:00 p.m. CET/WAT (Barcelona and Nigeria), 7:00 p.m. GMT (UK), 2:00 p.m. ET, 11:00 a.m. PT (USA) , 00:30 IST (India, Thursday)

Venue: Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium, Ar-Rayyan, Qatar

referee: Janny Sikazwe (ZAM)

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP

As seen on TV: FOX (USA), TSN 1 (Canada), BBC One (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), Sports18 (India), Gol Mundial (Spain), others

How to watch online: FOX Sports App, Sling TV (US), BBC iPlayer (UK), others


POSITIONS

Spain XI: Simon; Azpilicueta, Rodri, Laporte, Alba; Gavi, Busquets, Pedri; Ferran, Asensio, Olmo (4-3-3)

Costa Rica XI: Navas; Martinez, Fuller, Duarte, Calvo, Oviedo; Campbell, Borges, Tejeda, Bennette; Opposites (5-4-1)

GAME INFO

competition/round: FIFA World Cup 2022, Group E, Matchday 1

appointment time: Wednesday, November 23, 2022 at 7:00 p.m. local time, 5:00 p.m. CET/WAT (Barcelona and Nigeria), 4:00 p.m. GMT (UK), 11:00 a.m. ET, 8:00 a.m. PT (USA) , 9:30 p.m. IST (India)

Venue: Al Thumama Stadium, Doha, Qatar

referee: Mohammed Abdulla (UAE)

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP

As seen on TV: FOX (USA), TSN 1 (Canada), ITV 1 (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), Sports18 (India), TVE La 1, Gol Mundial (Spain), others

How to watch online: FOX Sports App, Sling TV (US), ITV Hub (UK), others


POSITIONS

Germany XI: News; Süle, Rüdiger, Schlotterbeck, Raum; Kimmich, Gundogan; Gnabry, Musiala, Havertz; Miller (4-2-3-1)

Japan XI: Gonda; Sakai, Yoshida, Itakura, Nagatomo; Endo, Tanaka; Ito, Kamada, Kubo; Mada (4-2-3-1)

GAME INFO

competition/round: FIFA World Cup 2022, Group E, Matchday 1

appointment time: Wednesday, November 23, 2022 at 4:00 p.m. local time, 2:00 p.m. CET/WAT (Barcelona and Nigeria), 1:00 p.m. GMT (UK), 8:00 a.m. ET, 5:00 a.m. PT (USA) , 6:30 p.m. IST (India)

Venue: Khalifa International Stadium, Ar-Rayyan, Qatar

referee: Ivan Barton (SLV)

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP

As seen on TV: FS1 (USA), TSN 1 (Canada), ITV 1 (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), Sports18 (India), Gol Mundial (Spain), others

How to watch online: FOX Sports App, Sling TV (US), ITV Hub (UK), others


POSITIONS

Morocco XI: Bounou; Hakimi, Aguerd, Saiss, Mazraoui; Ounahi, Amrabat, Amallah; Ziyech, En-Nesyri, Boufal (4-3-3)

Croatia XI: Livakovic; Juranovic, Lovren, Gvardiol, Sosa; Modric, Brozovic, Kovacic; Vlasic, Kramaric, Perisic (4-3-3)

GAME INFO

competition/round: FIFA World Cup 2022, Group F, Matchday 1

appointment time: Wednesday, November 23, 2022 at 1:00 p.m. local time, 11:00 a.m. CET/WAT (Barcelona and Nigeria), 10:00 a.m. GMT (UK), 5:00 a.m. ET, 2:00 a.m. PT (USA) , 3:30 p.m. IST (India)

Venue: Al Bayt Stadium, Al Khor, Qatar

referee: Fernando Andres Rapallini (ARG)

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP

As seen on TV: FS1 (USA), TSN 1 (Canada), ITV 1 (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), Sports18 (India), Gol Mundial (Spain), others

How to watch online: FOX Sports App, Sling TV (US), ITV Hub (UK), others


Matchday Thread Rules

We don’t have many rules here, but there are a few things to keep in mind when participating in our matchday threads:

Even if the referee sucks or we lose the game watch the cursing. It’s just unnecessary. Likewise, do not discuss illegal streaming links. Those who do are warned and those who post links will be banned immediately. Finally, be nice to each other. This is a Barcelona community and we don’t need to offend each other.

Have fun with the game! Forever and ever, regardless of the competition, VISCA EL BARÇA!

Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *